

STATE OF HAWAII Public Utilities Commission

465 South King St., Room 103 HONOLULU, HAWAII 96813 PHONE: (808) 586-2020 FAX: (808) 586-2066 E-MAIL: puc@hawaii.gov

WEBSITE: https://puc.hawaii.gov

INFORMATION AND INSTRUCTIONS

TO FILE PUC ANNUAL FINANCIAL REPORT FOR ALL MOTOR CARRIERS HI-PUC-FORM 03-010 AND HAW-PUC FORM 03-020

1. General Requirements

All passenger and property motor carriers, regardless of revenue level, shall file, HI-PUC-FORM 03-010 with the Commission. The only financial information required in this report is the carriers' gross regulated revenues to compute its PUC Fee. However, all motor carriers are reminded that they are required to comply with Hawaii Revised Statutes (HRS) Chapter 271 and Hawaii Administrative Rules (HAR), Title 6, Chapter 62 (aka Chapter 6-62), Motor Carrier Rules and Classification of Passenger and Property Carriers. For financial reporting requirements, see subchapter 7 of HAR Chapter 6-62.

All motor carriers are requested to keep their records and financial reports prepared in compliance with the Uniform System of Accounts (USOA) for Passenger and Property Carriers. For each calendar year, financial reports should be prepared similar to HAW-PUC FORM 03-020and shall be completed by June 1St of each year and shall be kept at the carrier's place of business. Each year, <u>all motor carriers</u> shall be able to furnish a copy of this report upon Commission request.

On 12/3/2007, the Commission issued Decision and Order No. 23862, in Docket No. 2007-0159, which stated that beginning with calendar year 2008, all carriers reporting PUC regulated revenues of more than \$1,000,000 shall file, HAW-PUC FORM 03-020, revised 1/1/2009, by June 1st for each of the four calendar year period during which the Zone of reasonableness remains in effect. In addition, HI-PUC-FORM 03-010 must continue to be filed by April 30th of each year.

Carriers with gross revenues of \$1,000,000 or less shall continue to file HI-PUC-FORM 03-010 by April 30th of each year. These carriers shall also be able to furnish a copy of HAW-PUC FORM 03-020, revised 1/1/2009, upon Commission request.

If a carrier does not provide the Commission with the requested financial reports and/or financial records are not kept in compliance with the HAR Chapter 6-62, the Commission may initiate show cause proceedings to revoke the carrier's certificate or permit.

2. Where to File HI-PUC-FORM 03-010

Hawaii Public Utilities Commission 465 South King Street, Room 103 Honolulu, HI 96813

3. <u>Due Date of Annual Financial Report and PUC Motor Carrier Fee (HI-PUC-FORM 03-010</u>

The Annual Financial Report and PUC Motor Carrier Fee are <u>due on or before</u> <u>April 30th of each year.</u> The gross revenues reported are based on the carrier's business during the preceding calendar year. **NO EXTENSION OF TIME TO FILE** shall be granted.

4. Penalty for Late Filing of Annual Financial Report

In accordance with Section 271-27(i), HRS, a civil penalty shall be imposed for failure to file the PUC Annual Financial Report by April 30th. The penalty is equal to one-sixteenth of one per cent per month of the motor carrier's gross PUC revenues. The minimum penalty is \$50.00.

5. <u>Instructions to Complete Annual Financial Report</u>

a. The Annual Financial Report must either be <u>TYPED</u> on the Commission's form, or eFiled utilizing the eFile form. Any report handwritten in <u>PENCIL shall be</u> rejected.

b. Refer to First Page:

On top left hand corner, enter your name (as stated on your certificate), dba, PUC number, and the calendar year. On top right hand corner, check-mark whether you are a passenger or property carrier.

c. Refer to Section A:

- 1. Answer questions 1 and 2.
- Complete the verification section. Be sure that the owner, partner, officer or an authorized agent with a power of attorney signs the verification page. If it is not signed by one with proper authority, it shall be REJECTED.

d. Refer to Section B:

1. Enter the PUC gross revenues accrued during the calendar year on the appropriate line(s).

2. PUC Motor Carrier Gross Revenue Fees

Enter the total PUC gross revenues for passenger carriers or property carriers. Compute the motor carrier gross revenue fee by multiplying total PUC revenues by the factor .0025 and enter this amount on the space provided. **The minimum amount due is \$20.00.** Attach a check made payable to Hawaii Public Utilities Commission. **DO NOT MAIL CASH.**

NOTE: If you are eFiling HI-PUC-FORM 03-010, you will be prompted to provide banking information before your filing can be submitted because an ePayment is required when eFiling this form.

If you fail to pay the amount due on or before April 30th, you shall be assessed penalty and interest charges. Under Section 271-27(h), HRS, you are subject to a penalty for the failure to pay the motor carrier gross revenue fee. This law authorizes the Commission to assess a minimum penalty up to \$1,000.00 and between \$50.00 and \$500.00 per day for continuous non-payment. Interest shall continue to accrue at a rate of ten (10) per cent per annum.

6. Forms and Instructions

All the following forms are available on-line at: https://puc.hawaii.gov

HI-PUC-FORM 03-010 and Instructions

HAW-PUC FORM 03-020
Uniform System of Accounts — Passenger
Uniform System of Accounts — Property

Hawaii Administrative Rules 6-62, Motor Carrier Rules and Classification of Passenger and Property Carriers are available on-line at: https://puc.hawaii.gov

7. Questions

If you have any questions, please call the PUC audit section in Honolulu at 808-586-2020 or visit our website at https://puc.hawaii.gov. Neighbor island carriers may call their local PUC office for assistance:

Island of Kauai 808-274-3232 Island of Maui 808-984-8182 Island of Hawaii 808-974-4533