Randall Y. Iwase, Chair

Chair Randall Y. IwaseRandall Y. Iwase was appointed as the Chair of the Commission in January 2015 and named Chair of the Commission by Governor David Y. Ige for a term to expire on June 30, 2020. Prior to his appointment to the Commission, Chair Iwase served as the Chair of the Hawaii State Tax Review Commission, Chair of the Hawaii Labor and Industrial Relations Appeals Board, and as Executive Director of the Aloha Tower Development Corporation. He also served as the Supervising Deputy Attorney General where his division provided legal counsel to the Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs and the Public Utilities Commission. Chair Iwase is a former state senator and former Honolulu city council member. Chair Iwase holds a J.D. from the University of San Francisco School of Law, and a B.A from the University of Florida, Gainesville, where he graduated with honors.

James P. Griffin, Commissioner

Commissioner James P. GriffinJames P. Griffin was appointed to the Public Utilities Commission by Governor Ige in May 2017 for a term to expire June 30, 2022.

Commissioner Griffin was previously a faculty member at the Hawaii Natural Energy Institute (HNEI), an independent research institute within the University of Hawaii that conducts clean energy research and development activities. At HNEI, Dr. Griffin worked on research and demonstration projects related to grid integration of renewable energy sources, energy storage, and emerging distributed energy resource technologies. From 2012 to 2016, he served as the Commission’s Chief of Policy and Research. Commissioner Griffin has also worked as a policy analyst at the RAND Corporation and legislative analyst in the Hawaii State Legislature.

Commissioner Griffin holds a Ph.D. in policy analysis from the Pardee RAND Graduate School, M.A. in economics from the University of California at Santa Barbara, joint master’s degree from Duke University in Environmental Management and Public Policy, and B.A. in Political Economy from Williams College.

He recently participated as a core advisory team member for the U.S. Department of Energy’s (DOE) DSPx Initiative, and previously served on peer review panels for DOE smart grid and microgrid programs. He was also a member of the Hawaii Clean Energy Initiative Electricity Working Group and mentor for the Hawaii Renewable Energy Venture Energy Excelerator program.

Jennifer M. Potter, Commissioner

Commissioner Jennifer M. PotterJennifer M. Potter was appointed to the Public Utilities Commission by Governor Ige in March 2018 for a term to expire June 30, 2024.

Commissioner Potter was previously a faculty member at the Hawaii Natural Energy Institute (HNEI), an independent research institute within the University of Hawaii, where she conducted research on demand response, Distributed Energy Resource (DERs) technologies, locational benefits of DERs, and energy efficiency.

Prior to joining HNEI, Commissioner Potter was a Sr. Scientific Engineering Associate in the Electricity Market and Policy group at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory where she was the project lead on the 2025 California Demand Response Potential Study for the California Public Utilities Commission. During her tenure, she conducted a number of studies on demand response and integrated demand side management for the U.S. Department of Energy.

Commissioner Potter previously worked at Sacramento Municipal Utility District (SMUD) as the Project Manager on SMUD’s SmartSacramento team working on the Department of Energy’s American Recovery and Reinvestment Act funded Consumer Behavior Study, known as SmartPricing Options pricing pilot. While at SMUD, she also worked as the Customer Strategy Planner for residential and small commercial EE and DR programs, as well as serving as the Enterprise Performance Data Manager. Commissioner Potter also worked as the Principal Market Analyst in the Pricing and Resource Planning department at SMUD.

Prior to her time at SMUD, Commissioner Potter worked at City of Roseville, Roseville Electric, as the principal load and revenue forecaster, load researcher, and business analyst for the utility.

Commissioner Potter holds a Master of Science in Public Policy and Management from Carnegie Mellon University and a Bachelor of Arts in International Studies and Economics from Southern Oregon University.