The State of Hawaii Public Utilities Commission was established in 1913. The Commission’s mission is to serve the public, by ensuring essential utility services are delivered to consumers in a safe, reliable, economical, and environmentally sound manner.

As of fiscal year 2023, the Commission regulates 2,014 entities, which includes all chartered, franchised, certificated, and registered public utility companies that provide electricity, gas, telecommunications, private water and sewage, and motor and water carrier transportation services in the State.  It also oversees the administration of a One Call Center that provides advance warning to excavators of the location of subsurface installations in the area of an excavation in order to protect those installations from damage; the Telecommunications Relay Services (TRS) fund which provides intrastate TRS for the deaf, persons with hearing disabilities, and persons with speech disabilities; and the Public Benefits Fee surcharge which is used to fund and support energy efficiency programs and services implemented by an independent third party administrator on the islands of Oahu, Maui, Molokai, Lanai and Hawaii.

View, download or print a copy of the PUC tri-fold brochure (updated March 2024)

Entities Regulated by the PUC

Energy Telecom
Electricity Gas
Hawaiian Electric Company Maui Electric Company Hawaii Electric
Light Company
Kauai Island Utility Cooperative Hawaii Gas Hawaiian Telcom 225 Wireless and
Wireline Companies
Transportation Water/ Waste-water
Water Carriers Motor Carriers
Young Brothers Hone Heke 1,123 Passenger Carriers 618 Property Carriers 40 Private Water and Sewer
Updated 3/2024