The Commission regulates four electric utility companies or entities engaged in the production, purchase, transmission, distribution, and sale of electric energy in the State: Hawaiian Electric Company (“HECO”), serving the island of Oahu; Maui Electric Company (“MECO”), serving the islands of Maui, Lanai, and Molokai; Hawaii Electric Light Company (“HELCO”), serving the island of Hawaii (collectively, “the HECO Companies”); and Kauai Island Utility Cooperative (“KIUC”), serving the island of Kauai. MECO and HELCO are wholly owned subsidiaries of HECO, which is in turn a wholly owned subsidiary of Hawaiian Electric Industries, Inc.